My adoption profile

Julie

Family Type: Single
State I live in: Michigan

dear expectant mother

Being able to bring a child into the world is a woman’s greatest gift. The second is considering allowing another woman to raise her child in their loving, stable and secure home. I cannot thank you enough for opening your heart to both of these opportunities. It takes courage and faith to begin this process and it is one that I hope we can walk through together.

I want to offer my home and my life to your child to read books at bedtime (one of my favorite past times), to cuddle on the couch watching old Disney movies on a rainy day, to laugh at silly songs and to do cartwheels or play baseball in the backyard. I want to share my home of warmth and coziness to guide their imagination to wherever they may want to go.

I have so many loving memories of my childhood, and I enjoy spending time with my nieces and nephews more than anything. To welcome a child into my own home, to share these experiences with, would be the greatest blessing to my life.

1

About Me

I grew up in the Midwest so you can say I have that easy-going mentality. I was raised in a middle-class home with my parents, 2 sisters, and brother. I am very close with my family and we still go on an annual camping trip every year!

After college, I started in the exciting field of advertising working to create commercials for several large companies and have been doing it for almost 20 years. I’ve always had a love of learning so while working full time I went back to school to get my master’s degree.

Traveling and exploring new places is a big hobby of mine and I’ve been blessed to be able to visit many places with several of my closest friends and on my own. It was during a recent trip to Montana that my love of horseback riding reemerged and I finally took the plunge and am now taking lessons. I love to try new things!

Qualities friends and family say I have: Loyalty, honesty (maybe too much), funny (sarcasm not haha), intelligence, being a great listener and a great mentor.

1

My Home

A large fenced-in yard, basement, and plenty of room were a must-have when I purchased my home many years ago. Lexie, my year and a half energetic Golden Retriever, is waiting for another member of the family to chase her around and play catch!

I found the perfect home for me in a quaint but eccentric town that is less than 30 minutes from my extended family. It is a community that is widely known to embrace all types of families and several times a year throws art and local business fairs. They have an incredible children’s program at the library and I would love to be able to share this with my own child!

My Extended Family

Growing up as one of four children and one of 30 cousins, holidays and birthday gatherings are all very lively and exciting. Birthday celebrations are a must and we celebrate at least once a month starting from November through May. One of the key family traditions we have, and it’s one passed down from my grandparents, is our yearly summer camping trip in the northern part of Michigan. 50 years strong, 30-40 of us gather to spend a week enjoying the lake (and the dirt), sitting by the campfires appreciating each other without the modern convenience of technology.

While my parents are excited about adding another grandchild into the mix, my nieces and nephews are probably the most excited for this process and can’t wait to add a cousin into the family.

My family description wouldn’t be complete if I didn’t mention the tribe of amazing woman that I have surrounding me. Knowing each of them for at least 15 years has given me the courage and support to lead this journey. They are an amazing group of women that have taught me the joys and the difficulties of juggling motherhood and career and how to do it successfully.

1

What Led Me To Adoption

Since I was 11 and my younger sister was born, I always knew that children would be part of my future. I loved taking care of her like she was my own. I’m often at the kid’s table chatting them up and participating in the craft or activity of the day. I’ve gone down a couple of paths trying to add to my family. After talking to friends who have adopted along with making many pro and con lists, adoption became the clear path for me.

more about Julie

more about Julie

Occupation:
Advertising Director
Religion:
Spiritual
Race:
Caucasian
Education:
Masters of Business Administration
Food:
Homemade Chicken and Dumpling Soup
Hobby:
Horseback Riding
Movie:
The Fox and the Hound
Sport:
Football
Holiday:
Christmas
Music Group:
Mumford and Sons
TV Show:
Friends
Book:
The Sun Also Rises
Subject in School:
English
Dream Vacation:
Sailboat cruise around the Greek Isles

Contact Julie

Interested in learning more about this family?

Click "Add to Favs" on a profile to save a quick link for later.

View Waiting Families