my adoption profile

Dawn

Family Type: Single Heterosexual Woman
State I live in: South Carolina

dear expectant mother

Dear Expectant Mother,

I was adopted by my parents and grew up in a loving household with a military father and a stay-at-home mother. I was told I was adopted from the time I came to their family. My father used to sing me to sleep with “My adopted daughter made to order.” I was the only child in my school who celebrated three birthdays: the day I was born, the day my adoption was finalized, and my christening. I intend to carry on that tradition with my child. My mother said she would always be grateful and love my birth mother for giving me to her, and I will teach my child the same.

I will be a single mother because I have never found the man I would want to spend the rest of life with, but I know I want to be a mother. My friends say any child who has me for a mother will be one of the luckiest because I have so much love to give. I am financially stable, so I will be able to provide well for my child.

This pandemic has proven I can be as effective from home as I am in my office, which will be helpful with a baby. I work at a university, which has its own top-rated child-care facility for the baby to be at while I am in the office. Being at a university, there are always activities for my child to participate in, such as ballet or music classes. During the summer, we have camps in art, theater, dance, and music, which my child can take part in as much as desired.

Hope and prayers,
Dawn

My friends say any child who has me for a mother will be one of the luckiest because I have so much love to give. I am financially stable, so I will be able to provide well for my child.

-Dawn

About Me

I am outgoing and friendly and have never met a stranger. I enjoy working at a university, interacting with the students when they are considering our school all the way through their academic career to graduation. I enjoy sewing, which is something my mother passed on to me. I also love to bake and cook (probably too much). I enjoy going to the ballet and theater as well as concerts. My perfect escape is to the mountains. My final but definitely not least enjoyment is church. I have always loved going to church. I was amazed and dazzled in church as a child, and the wonder is still there as an adult. I work with the children in Sunday School, Vacation Bible School, and Disciple Camp.

My Home & Pets

My home is a brick, one-story ranch. It has three bedrooms and two bathrooms and is on a large lot. The house was built by my parents, and I lived with both of them until my mother passed away ten years ago. Now it is my dad and I. We get along famously. The yard is large enough for a swing set or jungle gym for your child to run and play on. The backyard is fenced in so your child will be safe and secure.

My Extended Family

I like to describe myself as the only and youngest child. I had a sister who was nine years older, making me the youngest, but she passed away at three months old from spina bifida, so I am the only child. My father is the middle child of three boys, and my mother was an only child. I have three cousins.

Being a military family, all of traditions center around our small nucleus of a family as well as our church family and military family. We always decorate our tree the first week of December because my mother’s birthday was the 4th, and that was all she ever wanted for her birthday. We go to church on Christmas Eve for a beautiful candlelight service. My church family has become my aunts, uncles, grandmothers, grandfathers, and cousins.

My Adoption Story

When I was three months old, I was adopted through the state. I have found it is no different than if my mother would have conceived me. With this in mind, when my doctor told me I was experiencing early menopause at 35 and would never be able to have a child, my mind went immediately to adoption. I did not go out and start the adoption process at that time as I wanted to wait until I was financially secure enough to give my baby the life he or she deserves. I did not want to be struggling to make ends meet. I am now in that place and ready to grow my family.

more about Dawn

more about Dawn

Occupation:
Director of Students
Religion:
Lutheran
Race:
Caucasian
Education:
Ph.D.
Food:
Italian, German
Hobby:
Sewing, knitting
Movie:
White Christmas
Favorite Tradition:
Decorating the Christmas tree
Sport:
Baseball
Holiday:
Christmas
Music Group:
The Beach Boys, Elvis Presley, Johnny Cash
TV Show:
NCIS
Book:
Pride and Prejudice
Subject in School:
French, History
Dream Vacation:
Paris

Contact Dawn

Interested in learning more about this family?

Call/Text 224-410-0522

Click "Add to Favs" on a profile to save a quick link for later.

View Waiting Families