My adoption profile


Family Type: Single Heterosexual Woman
State I live in: Missouri

dear expectant mother

Hello from the Midwest! Thank you for taking the time to learn about me as you consider an adoption plan. I am a hopeful single mom by choice who loves lindy hop swing, travel, and car karaoke. I enjoy hiking and visiting beaches with my pups and have been known to nerd out about Harry Potter, Marvel, and early soul music. I know you have an important decision to make, and I’m grateful for the opportunity to be considered as an adoptive parent.

If you choose me, your child will be raised in a supportive, loving home that values education, diversity, family, responsibility, empathy, and community service. My hope is to provide a child with well-rounded life experiences and help them discover their passions and interests. My goal as a parent is to build a positive relationship that encourages independent thinking and leads with compassion, while setting limits, explaining rules, and considering the child’s perspective. As an adoptive parent, I would honor your child’s heritage, culture, and birth family. They would know their story from a young age and respect the loving role you play in it.

I hope you feel supported no matter where you are in your journey. If you choose an adoption plan, I will respect the level of openness you want; I am open to updating you with messages and photos. I would love to meet you, learn about your aspirations, and understand what you want for your child.

Watch My Video

In high school, I led a Girl Scout troop, and my summer college job was at a daycare. Unlike most folks on an airplane, I’ll happily sit by a child, knowing that I’ll enjoy my flight.


About Me

Hey there! I’m Hilary—a marketing consultant and teacher, traveler of mountains and rocky beaches, and collector of music and dance moves. Whether teaching swing dance or serving as a marketing leader, I’m passionate about leading a life that positively impacts others. I’m known for my creativity, organization, thoughtfulness, open-mindedness, caring heart, and witty sarcasm. I left my corporate job to develop future generations and create a better family lifestyle. As a college professor, I have a flexible schedule and work from home 60% of the week. A lifelong learner driven by curiosity, I enjoy adventures big and small, from backpacking to cooking a new dish. I crave creative outlets, such as singing, dancing, crafting, decorating, and photography. Like Beyonce, Joss Stone, and Lauryn Hill have all sung, I’m in love with music. My eclectic mix includes 1930s jazz, blues, soul, folk, pop, R&B, Broadway, funk, alternative/indie, roots, and more.

My Home & Pets

My mom and pups live with me in our multi-generational home. We chose to live together so a child could be surrounded by family and not require daycare. Macy and Lily, a Cairnoodle and Yorkipoo, are best buds who love to cuddle, play, and take vacays to the beach and mountains. We love living in our family-friendly lake community with big trees, walking paths, parks, a swimming pool, and ponds. Our home sits on a cul-de-sac and has four bedrooms, a fenced yard, and a purple door. Great Schools rates the elementary and high school above the state average in test scores, academic progress, and college readiness. Located in the suburbs, we’re not far from the city’s museums, stadiums, theme parks, zoo, and other attractions.

My Extended Family

Small but mighty, my immediate family consists of my mom and our two pups. My mom (and best friend) is a retired English teacher, who is a fan of baking, banned books, and bunny rabbits. We recently lost my dad to leukemia. A retired HR executive and fan of baseball and sci-fi, he would have made a great grandpa. My mom is incredibly supportive and looks forward to becoming a grandma, sharing adventures, reading stories, and starting new traditions.

My extended family includes my maternal grandma, four sets of aunts and uncles, 14 cousins, and their children. Some of our cherished traditions include feasting on layer dip, giggling about our grandparents’ funny ways, listening to family stories around the table, and enjoying musical performances from our “von Trapp” family musicians.

As an only child, I have a few chosen “sisters” and “brothers” who are like family. I’m Aunt Hilary to their children and puppies. We travel together, host family game nights, share holiday traditions, and even make Target runs together. They are looking forward to me growing our family and being “aunts” and “uncles” to a little one. Overall, my family provides a lot of love, support, and fun!

What Led Me To Adoption

I have always wanted to be a mom. This stems from my close relationship with my mom and my love of kids. I was always the older cousin who played with my little cousins at family gatherings. In high school, I led a Girl Scout troop, and my summer college job was at a daycare. Unlike most folks on an airplane, I’ll happily sit by a child, knowing that I’ll enjoy my flight. When I decided to become a single mom by choice, I began my journey trying to conceive by donor. After multiple attempts, I needed to change my path but not my destination. More than anything, I want the opportunity to create a loving home and family for a child.

more about Hilary

more about Hilary

Marketing professor and consultant
Agnostic / Humanist
Doctorate in Business Administration
Layer dip, crab rangoon, brownies
Lindy hop, travel, photography
Empire Records, Encanto, The Shawshank Redemption
Favorite Tradition:
Baking Christmas cookies
Music Group:
Lake Street Dive, Lizzo, Aretha, Otis Redding, Sam Cooke
TV Show:
Parks & Recreation, The Mindy Project
Anne of Green Gables
Subject in School:
All! I love to learn!
Dream Vacation:
Iceland, Santorini, Alaska, New Zealand

Contact Hilary

  1. Field is required
  2. Field is required
  3. Invalid Input
  4. Invalid Input
  5. Invalid Input
  6. Invalid Input
Need Help? Call or Text: 224-410-0522